Tags

NewBees: Beginning Beekeeping

ere varroa_mites Varroa: your new nightmare…

I have been keeping bees now for seven years. In spite of taking courses, reading every book I could, keeping my eyes and ears open, and earning my Master Beekeeper designation, I have made every mistake I could.

Sometimes twice.

And I know more are out there waiting for me to make. Such is beekeeping!

We all have to do things in our own way and in our own time, but for what it is worth, here is what I wish I had known in my first year…

  1. It is easy to keep bees, but difficult to keep them well. For the first year or two, you will open that hive, probably with pounding heart and sweaty palms…and not have a clue what you are seeing. That is normal! Just ask a more experienced beekeeper to come look at your hive(s) with you and…

View original post 311 more words

